Board of Trustees

About the Board of Trustees

Schedule of dates, times and locations for the monthly Board of Trustees meetings

Board of Trustees Materials (Agendas, Minutes and President's Reports)

The Atlantic Cape Community College Board of Trustees is made up of not more than 15 nor less than 14 voting members, 13 of which are appointed in accordance with the laws of the State of New Jersey, and one of which is elected from the immediate graduating class. The College President shall be an ex-officio member of the Board but without vote. By statute, seven members are appointed by the County Executive of Atlantic County with the approval of the Commissioners, three members are appointed by the Cape May County Board of Commissioners, and two members are appointed by the governor. The county superintendent(s) of schools of Atlantic and Cape May counties is/are also members of the Board by statute. If one person has been appointed by the State Department of Education to serve as county superintendent for both Atlantic and Cape May counties, then the Board shall consist of 14 voting members; otherwise, the membership shall be 15 voting members with each county superintendent having a seat on the Board. 

Click here if you would like to learn more about Board appointment procedures. 

The current Board membership includes three Caucasian males, five Caucasian females, two Hispanic females, two African-American males, and one African-American female. The Trustees are active in education, healthcare, utilities, public service, law, banking, and community businesses.

The Board sets policy and has final authority over budgets and expenditures, and the President is responsible for internal administrative operations.

The most important function of the Board is the selection, evaluation and retention of the college president. The current president is under contract, with retention and contract renewal contingent on performance/evaluation guidelines established by the Board. The Board also sets the policies for the College.

Board members participate in national, state and local civic professional organizations as well as political and charitable organizations. Members understand the community college mission and the legal and fiscal duties stipulated in state statutes and state board of education regulations. They are active outside regular board meetings, participating in legislative action relevant to community colleges.

The Board meets on the third or fourth Tuesday of each month in the evening. The eight committees of the Board of Trustees meet prior to the Board meeting.

Members of the Board of Trustees

  • Ellen Byrne, Esq., Chairperson
  • Daniel L. Money '72, Vice Chairperson
  • Donald Parker, Treasurer
  • Flora Castillo
  • Christina Clemans
  • Dave Coskey
  • Rev. Dr. Thomas Dawson
  • Dr. Judith DeStefano
  • Ambrose Gray
  • Monica Kyle
  • Hailie Nguyen '23, Alumni Representative
  • Mark Sandson
  • Maria Ivette Torres
  • Briggitte White
  • Leslie White-Coursey
  • Dr. Barbara Gaba, Atlantic Cape President, Ex-Officio
  • William S. Donio, Esq., Board Attorney
  • Jean McAlister, Board Secretary

Board of Trustees Member Biographies

Related Links

Board of Trustees Bylaws

Atlantic Cape Policies and Procedures

Trustee Resource Center, a collection of materials designed to support the trustees of Atlantic Cape

General Powers of the Board, New Jersey Statutes 18A: 64A-12

The Atlantic Cape Foundation